Other CBCA Awards

Nan Chauncy Award

Named after Nan Chauncy, a noted Tasmanian children's author, this biennial CBCA award has been created to honour people who have made an outstanding contribution to the field of Australian children's literature.

The Award consists of two parts: 

  1. A citation written by the judges.
  2. A commemorative plaque. It is customary to present a plaque made of Tasmanian timber.

Award Recipients

  • 2021 Jan Nicholls (link to media release)
  • 2019 James Moloney (link to award citation & link to James' acceptance speech)
  • 2017 Mem Fox (link to Mem's acceptance speech)
  • 2015 Libby Gleeson (link to award citation)
  • 2012 Robyn Sheahan-Bright
  • 2010 Lesley Reece
  • 2008 Margaret Wild
  • 2006 Muriel Barwell
  • 2004 Margaret Hamilton 
  • 2002 Maurice Saxby
  • 2000 Belle Alderman
  • 1998 Walter McVitty
  • 1993 Laurie Copping
  • 1988 Joyce Oldmeadow
  • 1983 Marcie Muir

History of the Award

From 1983 to 1998 the Award was presented every five years. At the CBCA's AGM in 1999 it was decided that the Nan Chauncy Award be given biennially, in even-numbered years (up until 2014). The Award in 2000 was presented at the CBCA 5th National Conference in Canberra and in 2002 at the 6th National Conference in Perth.

Administration of the Award

The CBCA Nan Chauncy Award is administered by the CBCA National Board who may delegate responsibility to a Coordinator.

The recipient must be an Australian citizen, no matter where residing, or a person who has been resident in Australia for at least five years. In the case of a person who is not an Australian citizen, eligibility shall cease at the time when the person ceases to be a resident of Australia. The recipient shall be a person who has made an outstanding contribution, over a period of years, to the field of Australian children's literature. Such a person could be an editor, publisher, teacher, librarian, bookseller, lecturer, researcher, author, illustrator, etc.

Nominees must be living at the time nominations close.

CBCA Lifetime Achievement Award

The CBCA Lifetime Achievement Award recognises a long-standing contribution by an Australian citizen to Australian children’s books and a lifetime commitment to Australian readers.

Past Award Recipients

  • 2019 Paul Jennings AM at the CBCA 13th National Conference 'And Now They're Laughing!' in Canberra. Link to Award Citation written by Margaret Hamilton.
  • 2016 Robert Ingpen AM at the CBCA 70th Book of the Year Awards in Sydney.

Other CBCA Awards

CBCA Citation for Distinguished Services
This national award recognises ‘long and dedicated service to the work of the National Council of the CBCA’.

Muriel Barwell Award [Western Australia]
A biennial award for distinguished services to children's literature in WA.

Leila St John Award [Victorian Branch]
An annual award for distinguished services to children's literature in VIC.
Lady Cutler Award [NSW Branch]
For distinguished services to children’s literature in NSW.

Dame Annabelle Rankin Award [Queensland Branch]
A biennial award for distinguished services to children's literature in QLD.
Laurie Copping Award [ACT Branch]
For distinguished services to children's literature in the ACT.