The CBCA Awards Foundation

The Awards Foundation was established to raise money to fund prizes for the Children's Book of the Year Awards, in perpetuity.

Donations to the CBCA Awards Foundation are tax deductible and can be made via cheque:

CBCA Awards Foundation
PO Box 1163

Or via direct deposit:

BSB - 062182
Account No - 10024141
Account Name - CBCA Awards Foundation
Email - with name and address for receipt

Please download a Donation Form

Or via our eStore

History of the CBCA Awards Foundation

The original prize for the Children's Book of the Year Awards was a camellia if the winner was female or a handshake if male.

Government funding supported the Awards for some time (1966-1988). This was followed by commercial sponsorship (Angus & Robertson, Penguin Books Australia, Collins Dove and Franklin Watts in 1988; Myer-Grace Bros. 1989-1993; Angus & Robertson 1994; Reed Books Australia, Australia Post and Social Book Clubs 1995) which made it possible to offer substantial monetary prizes of up to $10,000 per category to the authors and illustrators of winning and honour books.

The challenge to secure commercial sponsorship for the Awards prize money led to a decision, at the end of 1995, to set up the Awards Foundation with the aim of raising $1,000,000 to enable the CBCA to support the Awards prizes in perpetuity.

Benefactors - CBCA Awards Foundation

(Donations of $20,000+)

  • Scholastic Australia
  • Allen & Unwin Australia
  • Laurie Copping OAM (in memoriam)
  • Maurice Saxby AM
  • Thyne Reid Trust No.1

Major Donors - CBCA Awards Foundation

(Donations of $5,000+)

  • Australia Post
  • Jill Bruce
  • Sandy Campbell
  • CBCA NSW Branch
  • CBCA WA Branch
  • Jean Chapman (in memoriam)
  • Era Publications
  • Max Fatchen (in memoriam)
  • Five Mile Press
  • Libby Gleeson AM
  • Bob Graham
  • Hachette Children’s Books Australia
  • Hardie Grant Egmont
  • HarperCollinsPublishers Australia
  • Ipswich District Teacher-Librarians' Network
  • The James N Kirby Foundation
  • Kinross-Wolaroi School, Orange
  • Koala Books
  • Library Board of Queensland
  • Beryl Moncrieff Matthews (in memoriam)
  • Jill Midolo (in memoriam)
  • Robin Morrow
  • Angela Namoi
  • The Northern Territory Government
  • Jan Omerod (in memoriam)
  • The Parents and Boys of Sydney Grammar Edgecliff Prep School
  • Penguin Books Australia
  • Eve Pownall (in memoriam)
  • Random House Australia
  • Marion E Robertson (in memoriam)
  • Emily Rodda (Jennifer Rowe)
  • Gregory Rogers (in memoriam)
  • Gillian Rubinstein
  • Maurice Saxby AM
  • SA Department of the Arts and Cultural Development
  • Cathie Tasker
  • University of Queensland Press
  • Julie Vivas
  • Walker Books Australia
  • Cassandra Weddell, Qld (in memoriam)
  • Maisie Williams, Garah NSW (in memoriam)
  • Margaret Wild
  • Sue Williams